CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The Water Cooler > New Forum Members

Old 08-20-2018, 08:30 AM
CAMaster Owner

Default Newb questions

Hi Camheads,

I've been a hobby woodworker for 22 years. I've been working with a Shaper Origin for most of this year, and it turned out that it was my CNC gateway drug!

Last week I put down the deposit on a Stinger II SR-44 with with Recoil Lathe (I've been interested in getting into ornamental turning for at least 17 years...), performance premium package, and 1.7kW spindle. I've never actually seen a CAMaster in person.

I'm not new to forums and understand about getting off my butt and searching posts (not threads) and I've done that, but sometimes the questions aren't framed exactly the way I want them to be framed.

I'd appreciate some answers from "those who know". :)

I plan to work mostly with hardwood, and chances are that if I do any plywood, it'll be with Baltic Birch, so I'll be using my tracksaw first anyway. I'm wondering if I should just shell out the additional $150 for the 2" gantry lift? The bit's moment is increased when the gantry is further away from the pivot point on the carriage, so I'm wondering if any play is introduced with the lift option? Any chattering added?

Thanks to Origin, I've become pretty decent with Fusion 360. I ended up modifying Casey Roger's Dogbone add-in on Github. He's let me take it over and there should be some cool additions to it coming up at some time. I've watched video and played a lot, and I think I can generate tool paths pretty easily with it. I'm going to get G-Wizard calculator and that will allow me to set feeds and speeds. I'm fairly convinced that Fusion can't be used to create anything for the recoil lathe. It only wants to generate tradition lathe turning. Does anyone know differently?