CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > Vectric - Aspire

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2012, 10:16 PM
ktringle ktringle is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wiggins, MS
Posts: 132
Default AutoCAD 3D File To VCarve Pro

I heard that I should be able to use my AutoCAD 2010 to create a 3D object that can be cut on my Stinger II. I have saved/exported just about every possible file type but have been unable to open or import it into 3D Machinist or VCarve Pro. If anyone can tell me the steps involved it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Kevin.
__________________
Kevin Tringle
Stinger II 4X4 w/1.0Spindle
Graphtec FC5100-75 Plotter/Cutter
AutoCAD 2010-Flexi-Sign-V-Carve Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2012, 10:33 PM
JohnnyCNC's Avatar
JohnnyCNC JohnnyCNC is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,010
Send a message via Skype™ to JohnnyCNC
Default

Kevin, post a sample here. I will try it for you. My guess is that you aren't closing your shapes. Try converting them to mesh if you can. Vectric doesn't like open contours.

One more thing, I think you can only do 2 1/2D with VCarve Pro.
__________________
JohnnyCNC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2012, 10:55 PM
ktringle ktringle is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wiggins, MS
Posts: 132
Default ACAD File Sample

Johnny, I want to cut a basic cone shape out of MDF to pull a vacuum through to thermoform some acrylic. I just drew a sample for you to look at. (See attached file) I can cut 3D by using 3D Machinist and saving it as a V3M file.
Attached Files
File Type: dwg ConeSampleDWG.dwg (114.3 KB, 19 views)
__________________
Kevin Tringle
Stinger II 4X4 w/1.0Spindle
Graphtec FC5100-75 Plotter/Cutter
AutoCAD 2010-Flexi-Sign-V-Carve Pro

Last edited by ktringle; 03-20-2012 at 10:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2012, 11:49 PM
ktringle ktringle is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wiggins, MS
Posts: 132
Default Update

I downloaded the trial version of Cut3D. I was able to load a mesh version of the cone exported as a .stl. I was able to go through all the toolpathing steps except for saving it. The trial version doesn't allow that. It looked like VCarve Pro would import a valid Cut3D file. I was under the impression that VCarve Pro would do anything Cut2D and Cut3d would do. Apparently not. Will I need to purchase Cut3D to use my AutoCAD 3D capabilities? I wouldn prefer not have to spend the extra money on an Aspire upgrade if I can avoid it.
__________________
Kevin Tringle
Stinger II 4X4 w/1.0Spindle
Graphtec FC5100-75 Plotter/Cutter
AutoCAD 2010-Flexi-Sign-V-Carve Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2012, 12:13 AM
JohnnyCNC's Avatar
JohnnyCNC JohnnyCNC is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,010
Send a message via Skype™ to JohnnyCNC
Default

Kevin, can you convert your file to an older version, maybe even in dxf format? If so, I can convert it to stl for you I think. I can't do dwg in Aspire and my EnRoute won't accept this version of DWG.
__________________
JohnnyCNC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2012, 09:58 AM
ktringle ktringle is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wiggins, MS
Posts: 132
Default

I'll post a dxf and stl when I get home tonight. Thanks.
__________________
Kevin Tringle
Stinger II 4X4 w/1.0Spindle
Graphtec FC5100-75 Plotter/Cutter
AutoCAD 2010-Flexi-Sign-V-Carve Pro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2012, 10:35 AM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
CAMaster Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 5,165
Default

not sure how you got the impression that vcp will do anything cut 2d will do? (yet it will) or cut 3d (it was never meant to),,,, cut 3d will size and cam a 3d file in an acceptable format (.stl) for machinining this can be imported into vcp or cut 2d and machined. yet vcp nor cut 2d was ever able to create or manipulate 3d, this is done in a 3d program such as aspire,

this is what is represented as functions of the vectric software,

http://www.vectric.com/WebSite/Vectr...omparision.htm

you can do a lot with vcp/cut 3d, with autocad you can make models and machine them with this combo, yet to make manipulate and machine in the same software a program like aspire is needed.

the only feature that stands out with cut 3d is multisided machining. photo vcarve has a feature called photo v groove machining yet i have never done this
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC



Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
http://dropc.am/p/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2012, 12:39 PM
ktringle ktringle is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wiggins, MS
Posts: 132
Default

Thanks Jim. Since I already have AutoCAD 2010 and VCP I can purchase Cut3D and Photo Carve for about $400. I haven't checked with Vectric yet, but I think it would be around $1000 to upgrade to Aspire. If I want to stay married I might want to minimize any futher purchases. Just kidding. She is pretty impressed with the machine so far and has been very supportive. I think if I can get the same or similar results and save $500 or $600 dollars that would be the way to go. I'm not sure how much 3D I'll actually be doing but I'd like the option of drawing my own instead of purchasing individual files online.
__________________
Kevin Tringle
Stinger II 4X4 w/1.0Spindle
Graphtec FC5100-75 Plotter/Cutter
AutoCAD 2010-Flexi-Sign-V-Carve Pro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-21-2012, 12:55 PM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
CAMaster Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 5,165
Default

i actually draw very and i mean very few 3d files, aspire gives me far and away tools for layout and manipulation for files i purchase or have made! make her a last supper for her church or a sign for her favorite charity and she will support you forever !!
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC



Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
http://dropc.am/p/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-21-2012, 08:47 PM
ktringle ktringle is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wiggins, MS
Posts: 132
Default

Johnny, Here are a few more file types to try. Unfortunatley 3D Machinist only opens Vectric v3m files. There are no 3D toolpathing options in VCP so it looks like I would need Cut3D to toolpath any 3D objects I would create in ACAD. I can use any files purchased from Vectric (or others) as long as they come to me in the v3m format.
Attached Files
File Type: dxf ConeSampleDWG.dxf (254.4 KB, 2 views)
File Type: dxf MeshCone.dxf (154.3 KB, 1 views)
File Type: stl MeshCone.stl (242.7 KB, 4 views)
__________________
Kevin Tringle
Stinger II 4X4 w/1.0Spindle
Graphtec FC5100-75 Plotter/Cutter
AutoCAD 2010-Flexi-Sign-V-Carve Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.