CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Stinger Series CNC Routers > Stinger I (Table Top)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2013, 06:25 PM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 559
Default Stinger plug wiring

Iím in the process of installing a 20amp subpanel and NEMA L15-20 outlet for my soon to be arriving Stinger 1 with 1.7kv spindle. Can someone tell me how the neutral wire is wired into the plug, e.g. to the X, Y, or Z terminal?

Thanks,
Bruce
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cd-2421.jpg (33.7 KB, 24 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2013, 09:10 PM
buzzbee buzzbee is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minnesota, twin cities
Posts: 80
Default

black and red should be interchangeable..you need to match up the white (neutral). Black and red are both hot and each would be on one of the double pole breaker, white neutral and green ground. I would just match up the wires color for color by taking the outlet out to see what wires are asinged to what slot, then wire the plug to the same configuration. simple to take the plug/ outlets apart.
__________________
Joe G.
Stinger I
2.25 router, FTC, laser, on/off router
WinCNC/Aspire 4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2013, 09:48 PM
Rockford Rockford is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 45
Default 220 Plug

I have a Stinger in route right now, should be here Thursday! I have the same spindle on my Stinger 1 also and asked the same question because there was some conflicting posts about the wiring. This is what Luke from Camaster sent me.

The 220 power plug is a regular 3 wire 220 just like what you have on a table saw or any other 220 plug. You do have a 4 wire plug on the box, but that goes to the spindle the power coming in to the box is single phase 220. When it goes to the vfd and comes out it is transferred to 3 phase 220 that is why you will have 4 wire.

I was at Camaster last week for some training and saw my machine and that is exactly how it's wired. The Stinger 1 with a 1.7 KW spindle requires a 20 amp single phase 220 and a 120 volt outlet to power the control box and accessories.

I hope this helps!
__________________
Mark Lowe
Stinger 1
HSD 1.7 KW, FTC, Laser
WINCNC, Aspire, SolidWorks, CorelDraw
Epilog Helix
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2013, 12:00 AM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 559
Default

According to this thread the Stinger with 1.7kv spindle only has one cord/plug for the spindle & controller:http://www.camheads.org/showthread.php?t=1914

I'll talk to my electrician and have him hold off until I get the machine in. I was hoping to have everything ready to plug & play.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2013, 12:05 AM
Rockford Rockford is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 45
Default

If you read that post carefully you notice they are referring to a Stinger 2. That's why I email Camaster to confirm the wiring on a Stinger 1. Luke from Camaster supplied the info and was super helpful. Like I said I saw the wiring and the plugs myself at Camaster last week on a Stinger 1 with the HSD 1.7 KW spindle. To make yourself feel better just give Luke at Camaster a call, those guys are really helpful and very willing to answer any questions.
__________________
Mark Lowe
Stinger 1
HSD 1.7 KW, FTC, Laser
WINCNC, Aspire, SolidWorks, CorelDraw
Epilog Helix
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2013, 01:39 AM
D Moore D Moore is offline
Stinger Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Page View Post
Iím in the process of installing a 20amp subpanel and NEMA L15-20 outlet for my soon to be arriving Stinger 1 with 1.7kv spindle. Can someone tell me how the neutral wire is wired into the plug, e.g. to the X, Y, or Z terminal?

Thanks,
Bruce
I have some picture in this thread below. It's a 40 amp circuit but the principals are the same.
http://www.camheads.org/showthread.php?t=2531
__________________
Dan
~Just trying to flow with the grain ~

Camaster 4X8 w/Synrad Co2 Laser
Stinger III 4X4 8" Z
HSD 3 KW
Recoil-FTC-Laser
WinCNC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2013, 01:20 PM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 559
Default

Thanks everyone. I think I finally have it under control!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.