CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2010, 06:31 PM
Mark Johnston Mark Johnston is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Prescott AZ
Posts: 718
Default Photo V Carve

Hey Everyone,

I want to carve some photos into some boxes that I built. I have Aspire and researched it on the Vectric forum and found a thread on doing it with Aspire. The outcome was pretty bad so I looked at Photo V Carve and it looks and sounds like it might be what I want. I downloaded their trial version and was going to run one of their test pictures but Iím not sure what post Processor to use. Iím running Mach3 on a CAMaster MC4848 machine and there is no CAMaster post processors listed. Does anyone know what I should use? Does anyone know if they have a new version of Photo V Carve coming out when they release version 3 of Aspire?

Thanks for the help.
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2010, 06:52 PM
GJMATHEWS GJMATHEWS is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upstate New York, work in Honesdale, PA.
Posts: 433
Default

Just a guess on my part but is there a PP for Mach3? If there is try that.

The parameters at the beginning and the end of the program are the primary concern. Also jog movements between actual cutting shoulg default to G0 for rapid traverse and G1 for cutting.

Someone more knowledgeable with Mach3 should be along shortly. Until then, the Mach 3 Manual is a wealth of information.

Guy
__________________
:D Thinking outside the box is one thing, being able to accomplish what you think of, is another.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2010, 11:25 PM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
CAMaster Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 5,120
Default

mark camaster provides all the necessary pp for you, vectrics pp list is crowded with pp and 70-90% are just takeing up space, the same pp you use for vcarve is the same for all vectric software, joey gave me the entire list of pp today i will post it for you.

lithographs in the raw before place in front of a light look poor yet the visuals are excellent in front of a light, look for kent in the pvc section of vectrics forum he is the most knowledgable there

jim
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC



Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
http://dropc.am/p/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2010, 04:32 PM
Mark Johnston Mark Johnston is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Prescott AZ
Posts: 718
Default

I sent Tony Mac from Aspire an email and he responded right away (another great company). I was able to use the PP in the trail version of Photo V Carve Ė Mach2/3 (inch) (*.txt) and with a little care it worked fine. I donít like the quality of the picture being produced yet but I havenít exhausted all the options yet.

These forums are great, thanks for the help.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2011, 06:29 PM
Michael Mezalick's Avatar
Michael Mezalick Michael Mezalick is offline
CAMaster Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,025
Default

Is there a pp for Photo V-Carve for the X3?
And while I'm asking, how about for the A Axis?
Michael
__________________
Michael Mezalick
Cobra, WINCNC

3-D Modeling
Request a Quote
http://carveddetails.com/quotes/

mezalick@nni.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2011, 09:47 PM
eandico eandico is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,186
Default

Michael,
Just a stab in the dark but can you copy your pp from aspire over to photovcarve?
Don't know if it can be done......


Nick
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2011, 05:44 AM
Michael Mezalick's Avatar
Michael Mezalick Michael Mezalick is offline
CAMaster Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,025
Default

Nick, I tried that and I get line errors from each of the three pps that I have, mostly doing with the arc commands in the pp. I don't know if I can delete them . I guess I'll close my eyes and try.
Michael
__________________
Michael Mezalick
Cobra, WINCNC

3-D Modeling
Request a Quote
http://carveddetails.com/quotes/

mezalick@nni.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.