CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > Cabinet Parts Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2011, 12:15 PM
cgc cgc is offline
CAMaster Cobra X3 Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allston, MA
Posts: 42
Default Consistency with blind dados

Hi All,

Every day seems to be a new challenge but most seem to be getting better as I go.

Here's todays issue:

When I have a blind dado from CPP and run them on the machine, I seem to be getting a miss match from the pocket vs. the profile (see pic). I've tried bringing the DXF into BobCad and every line seems to be in the right place. I've also tried milling from Bobcad but still get the same result. This problem also seems to be inconsistent in that it will happen on only about 3/4 of the parts and the rest are fine. Any one have any thoughts?

Also, is there any way to adjust the global thickness setting in CPP to compensate for the plywood being under size?

Thanks,
Jonathan
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pic4.jpg (38.8 KB, 69 views)
__________________
Jonathan Taylor
Clever Green Cabinets
www.clever-green.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Clever...19523614792184
CAMaster Cobra CR-408 X3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2011, 12:59 PM
cgc cgc is offline
CAMaster Cobra X3 Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allston, MA
Posts: 42
Default

Another issue that I've been having (related?) is that my inside corners seem to be slightly over cut. Like the cutter is going to far by about 1/128". I'll attach pic asap.

Thanks again,
JT
__________________
Jonathan Taylor
Clever Green Cabinets
www.clever-green.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Clever...19523614792184
CAMaster Cobra CR-408 X3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2011, 11:18 AM
Ryan Patterson Ryan Patterson is offline
cabinetpartspro.com
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 28
Default

If you are getting the same result with files produce from different software packages and the drawings are correct the problem is not in the software. It sounds like you are getting have having an issue with bit deflection. Try changing the direction( climb /conventional.)

There is not a way to change the material globally. I will try and get this as an option in the next update.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2011, 12:19 PM
cgc cgc is offline
CAMaster Cobra X3 Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allston, MA
Posts: 42
Default

Hi Ryan,

Thanks for the reply.

The more I look at the results I am getting the more I am leaning towards a machine setting and/or calibration. I've look into changing the smoothing factor but doesn't seem to be getting me any better results. As for bit deflection, I think this is pretty unlikely because it's a 3/8" bit and I am seeing a few different issue, like the outside corners not being a perfect 90 degree angle (see attached).

I have a support request into Camaster. Hopefully the boys in yellow can help me out. Thanks again.

Jonathan
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pic5.jpg (39.0 KB, 58 views)
__________________
Jonathan Taylor
Clever Green Cabinets
www.clever-green.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Clever...19523614792184
CAMaster Cobra CR-408 X3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2011, 01:05 PM
eandico eandico is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,192
Default

Jonathan,
Have you checked to see if there is any play in your x or y axis?

With the router powered up and sitting idle grab the gantry(y) and see if it has any movement also do the same with the(x)

You might have a loose pinion gear or the like.

Just a guess!
Nick
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2011, 01:32 PM
Joey Jarrard's Avatar
Joey Jarrard Joey Jarrard is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calhoun, GA
Posts: 3,157
Default

Need to move the motors back and tighten up the belts on x and y. The other customer must have not done it.
After a couple of weeks the belts will stretch just a little bit. They are fiberglass reinforced so they do not give much but everything has a burn in.
__________________
Joey Jarrard

CAMaster
Outside Sales Manager &
CAMaster Product Specialist (R & D)
www.camaster.com

US Router Tools
Owner & Sales
www.usroutertools.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2011, 09:30 PM
cgc cgc is offline
CAMaster Cobra X3 Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allston, MA
Posts: 42
Default

Hi All,

Solved the problem.

After checking the belt tension, we still had a lot of movement in the Y axis. What we found was that the pinion gear set screw had come lose and the axis was moving on the shaft. Needless to say, I got it tight and we're back in business.

Thanks everyone!

Jonathan
__________________
Jonathan Taylor
Clever Green Cabinets
www.clever-green.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Clever...19523614792184
CAMaster Cobra CR-408 X3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.