PDA

View Full Version : Spoil board question


Murraygl
01-17-2015, 02:41 PM
So I'm putting spoil down for the first time. I have a new stinger 1 with 4 tracks. I am putting 3 x 6" between the tracks but I am wondering if I should lay 2 thin strips down the edges?

Thanks

Gator
01-17-2015, 03:27 PM
I did basically the same thing with my Stinger, never found a use for the outside but then again I don't do very large pieces.

Dell

Bruce Page
01-17-2015, 03:50 PM
I didn't see the need. The few times I've needed that area for clamping I use a scrap shim.

adirondak5
01-17-2015, 04:35 PM
I did , I use full width every so often and like solid base under work

http://i832.photobucket.com/albums/zz246/adirondak50/CNC/IMG_20140207_115656.jpg

Murraygl
01-17-2015, 07:27 PM
Thank you so much for the pic's. For a newbie at this its all about not making the first mistake. I decided to put some edges on first time. If I find my type of work does not need them I'll leave them off next time.

Glue is setting up. Next I have wait for my surfacing bit to arrive.

Can't wait to actually cut something!

Bruce Page
01-17-2015, 11:36 PM
Herb, did you glue & screw, or screws only?

adirondak5
01-18-2015, 06:21 AM
Herb, did you glue & screw, or screws only?

Just 1/4" nylon flat head screws and t-nuts , and brass inserts in over outer rails where I couldn't install t-nuts , no glue , I recessed the screws 1/2" in the 3/4" spoil board , as long as I don't gouge the hell out of it I'll be good for a while resurfacing at .005 or so when it needs it . Next one will be glued and screwed , then I'll get that last 1/4" use out of it too