Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Feedback on Feed and Speed Calculators

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen,

I recently ordered my stinger i and it is currently in production. I'm new to CNC machinery and took it upon myself to learn as much as I can before it arrives. I followed this forum and did research on CNC machines. I'm hoping my first cut won't result in a disaster. There was so much to wrap my head around; Aspire, WinCNC, CAD...etc....

So when I discovered feed and speed rates and learned it was not an exact science it boggled my brain. How did we not figure this out? I learned there was so many variables that a simple formula would only put us in the ballpark.

During my slow adventure of trying to figure all this out, I found two software feed and speed calculators. One is from CNC Cookbook, GWizard G-Code Editor, and the other is an Apple App in the App store, FSWizard Pro.

Each lets you select material, tools, and enter some other data and POOF!, you get your feed and speed rate. But this is where I ran into a problem.

With my newly acquired machine I will primarily be working on Wood, Ply and hard wood. In both calculators I entered the exact information:

Material: Hardwood
    Tool: Carbide Endmill, .5 D, 2 flutes
    Cut Depth: .25
    Cut Width:.25

G-Wizard= 5561 RPM and 161.269 Speed
    FSWizard Pro= 9172 RPM and 237.74 Speed

I'm assuming both programs are in inches.

Does this seem right? Why such a large gap in numbers? Anyone have feedback on any of these programs? Should i even bother with these calculators?

BTW FSWizard costs 17.99 in the apple app store and G-Wizard is subscription: 79/yr, 129/3yrs, or 249 for a life subscription.

Thanks in advance.

-Romeo (that is my real name)
    Stinger I
    1.7 KW (2.27HP) HSD Spindle
    Indexing Lathe
    Digitizing Probe
    Laser Cross
    FTC
    T-Slots
    Aspire 3, Cut 3D, WinCNC