CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC (http://www.camheads.org/index.php)
-   Vectric - Aspire (http://www.camheads.org/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Molding toolpath issues (http://www.camheads.org/showthread.php?t=10131)

Clayton.Lott 09-07-2019 05:17 PM

Molding toolpath issues
 
So I'm having an issue with molding toolpath in vcarve pro. I'm trying to run a .25 round over with a step onto .25 mdf to create end panels. Got my shape vector set up and trimmed down to .25 overall height, up my tool path and ready to cut but when I run the tool path my z cuts .0884 above zero which is not what I want. The only way I can get it to cut at zero is by placing .2 boundary offset in which would be fine except it also extends the top boundary which I cant have. Any ideas at all?

drummerjg 09-07-2019 07:49 PM

A silly guess/question.....you dont have any temporary offsets in the DRO window, do,you, ie green box next to the z axis?

sgodding 09-07-2019 08:56 PM

Add a very short horizontal vector at the start of the profile and move the rail by the length of that vector. Recalculate the toolpath. This should force the bit to the bottom of the profile at the start. You're essentially manually adding the offset just to one side of the profile. I do this all the time for MDF door profiles.

Clayton.Lott 09-07-2019 09:17 PM

I dont have any temporary zeros on z(green boxes).
I did however add a horizontal line to the beginning of the profile, with no change in the cut depth. The line was only .001 in length though.

sgodding 09-08-2019 02:56 PM

Make the line equal to the radius of the ballnose bit

Michael Mezalick 09-08-2019 07:21 PM

1 Attachment(s)
If you can node edit the vector, move the last node out just a fraction..
That wil solve your issue without a major impact on the design.
Michael

Clayton.Lott 09-09-2019 09:08 AM

Tried adding more of a horizontal line with no affect. Any other thoughts?

carasel 09-09-2019 01:48 PM

Have you watched this training video from Vetric?
https://support.vectric.com/tutorial...hp?video_id=46
This might have your answer.

sgodding 09-09-2019 03:24 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Was going to try to recreate your problem but a couple of things threw me when I was reading your description.

1. You said you wanted a .25 roundover with a step on .25" material. A .25" radius roundover doesn't seem like it will leave anything for a step in this material. Did you mean .125" radius?

2. What bit are you using?

I've included a file with a .125" radius and step, using a .125" ballnose. It's probably not right, but without more information it's hard to guess. Perhaps you could upload your problem file and we can look at it directly.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.