CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > Router Bits

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2020, 09:37 AM
cncdood cncdood is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38
Default Can I just use a normal dovetail bit for flat cut boxes?

I'm sure this is a dumb question but after searching around here I couldn't find the answer.

For flat cut dovetail boxes, why can't I just use a normal dovetail bit (like this https://www.amazon.com/Freud-Dia-Dov...EK/ref=sr_1_10) versus buying the $500 Vortex 9101?
__________________
Sam
Austin, TX

2013 Cobra 510 w/ ATC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2020, 08:32 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,645
Default

If the material is flat on the CNC bed...a regular dovetail bit is going to be oriented 90 from what it normally would be for joinery, at least for half of the joint if you are talking half-blind dovetails.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2020, 09:39 PM
Ed Hazel Ed Hazel is offline
CAMaster owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Woodland Mi
Posts: 78
Default

To do flat dovetails you need a special bit like the vortex with the radius on it. I looked into this a couple of years ago. I found another flat dovetail bit that was not an insert for around $200 if I recall.

I got the impression these flat dovetails took a lot of set up and the end results were less then desirable as they did not look right.
__________________
Ed Hazel

508 Cobra ATC 15 Tools
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2020, 03:08 PM
sgodding sgodding is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Henryville, PA
Posts: 470
Default

As others have said, you need a special dovetail bit for flat dovetails because they require a radius at the top of the dovetail. The bottom can have sharp corners, but the top radius is required.

I have done these using Mozaik. I set aside a sheet of baltic birch to dial in the setup of the bit...was using a custom bit so couldn't use the Vortex settings as is. Once I got them dialed in, they came out nice and consistent from there on out - the setup sheet was a one-time thing. They make a strong drawer box - you and your customer just have to be ok with the look of a baltic birch edge on the box, and they're sure less expensive.
__________________
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking LLC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2020, 09:06 PM
SteveNelson46 SteveNelson46 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 181
Default

Vectric (Aspire, V-Carve, etc.) has a software gadget that uses a regular end mill for flat dovetails. It isn't perfect but with some modification it could be useful.

http://gadgets.vectric.com/V10/dovetail.html
__________________
Steve
__________________
Camaster Stinger 1 with Recoil (2019)
FTC
1hp Spindle
Laser crosshair
Wireless Pendant
Aspire 10.5

Last edited by SteveNelson46; 07-22-2020 at 09:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.