CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > Vectric - Aspire

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2019, 04:11 PM
Dan Schmidt Dan Schmidt is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
Default V-Carve Pro Model Import Issue

VCarve Pro 9.517. First image shows a simple 3D model exported from Fusion360.

Second image shows intermediate step during Vectric model import ("orient 3D model"). Looks fine so far.

Third image shows result. The faces of the square cross-section are scalloped and far from flat.

I tried exporting .STL, .SKP, .DXF, and .OBJ files from Fusion 360, all with the same result. These exports seem fine, but Vectric is not unwrapping properly. Any suggestions?

Dan
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Fusion2.jpg (35.4 KB, 40 views)
File Type: jpg ImportModel2.jpg (41.1 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg Result2.jpg (46.5 KB, 42 views)
__________________
Dan Schmidt
  • PT404 Panther w/ 3kW spindle
  • Cyclone Vacuum System
  • Indexing Lathe
  • FTC/Laser/Assist/Remote
  • Fusion 360 / Vectric V-Carve Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2019, 06:53 AM
BradyWatson BradyWatson is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: 1 hour South of Philly
Posts: 320
Default

It looks like you don't have enough triangles in the planar/flat portions of the mesh. This is fine for 3d printing but not so good where you need to unwrap a model in software that represents 3d with voxels.

What you want to do is import the file into a program that lets you refine, rewrap or subdivide the mesh so it's comprised of more and smaller triangles or quads. You can probably do this in meshlab, blender or Rhino. There are no doubt others as well.
__________________
IBILD Solutions - High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2019, 11:09 AM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,297
Default

That is a model that could be cut out with simple 2D profile passes, in less than 3 minutes, if you were able to spin your recoil like a lathe and make profile passes separately from the lathe operation. Not sure why CAMaster does not use a better motor in their recoil that would allow this operation (you would only have to spin it at 200rpm).

Instead, you will have to spend over an hour cutting it out with a finish tool path that will require another hour of sanding to remove the tool marks.

You could make that quicker by hand on a lathe than on a recoil.
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2019, 12:10 PM
Dan Schmidt Dan Schmidt is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
Default

Brady, thanks, I'll experiment with meshlab to try this.

Russell, I have a lathe and agree this part is quite simple. I see the recoil as a tool to help with more complicated rotary carvings and don't have much need for any lathe functionality. I'm just learning and "stepping in" to the recoil and this is only a practice exercise. I figure unless I understand the issues behind this part, I'll struggle with more complicated 3D shapes.
__________________
Dan Schmidt
  • PT404 Panther w/ 3kW spindle
  • Cyclone Vacuum System
  • Indexing Lathe
  • FTC/Laser/Assist/Remote
  • Fusion 360 / Vectric V-Carve Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.