CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > Vectric - Aspire

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2020, 10:06 AM
kjoiner kjoiner is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Work - Duluth, GA, Home - Roswell, GA
Posts: 120
Default V Carve Pro - is there a way to create a spiral pocket?

Hello,

I was cutting a 5/8" thick piece of aluminum yesterday to create a 5/8 hole with a 1.188 x 3/16 deep counterbore. I used pocket toolpaths for both with a 1/4" cutter.

I was successful, but what I don't like about the pocket toolpath is when cutting the counterbore, the cutter laterally plunges into the wall to create the final O.D. This puts a lot of load on the cutter with resulting noise. In the pocket toolpath there is only an option to put leads on Z axis plunges. I think there should be some other options:
1. Spiral
2. Ramp
3. Lead in - I think this would solve my current problem

I think any of these 3 would help.

Am I missing something in my toolpath that would lessen the side load on the cutter when making pockets?
__________________
Kyle Joiner
IPA LLC
www.thinkipa.com
Duluth, GA
CAMaster Stinger 1 23
FTC, Laser Cross Hair
Vectric V Carve Pro
Remote Handheld Keypad
Solid Edge 2020
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2020, 10:18 AM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,815
Default

If you have not already done so, you may want to post this in the Vectric forums so that Vectric staff sees it. There are a number of things that many folks would like Vectric to add to the toolpath venue that support more efficient clearing for pockets, etc.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2020, 10:32 AM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 544
Default

Oh how I wish Vectric would come out with a ramping interpolating pocket toolpath for holes. A member on here wrote a gadget for this but it looks like it has to be programmed and set at certain XY points on the table, not for "selecting every hole after you've laid out or nested your design". I would love one that you can select all the holes on your nest and it automatically apply the interpolation to them and figure it out with whatever bit you've selected. Maybe that's in the works.

For the OP, try ramping inside pocket cuts for the holes. That'll give you more options for leads and ramps. You have have to end up drawing a smaller hole inside the finished hole and running 2 toolpaths, one to clear and one to finish to size.
__________________
Wes
Elite CNC Routing & Woodworks on Facebook
Steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
WinCNC
VcarvePro 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum, phenolic plenum
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2020, 04:36 PM
kjoiner kjoiner is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Work - Duluth, GA, Home - Roswell, GA
Posts: 120
Default

Hello,

I think I may have to adjust the stepover amount to get less lateral force. I cut it down from 40% to 10%. I realized that 40% of .250 is .100 which is the amount cutter was being shoved into the side wall of the counterbore.

I am using the ramping option, but that only applies to z axis plunging.

It seems a spiral path would help keep constant forces on the cutter rather than a sudden side load.

I'm going to copy my original post and put it on the Vectric forum as recommended.

Kyle
__________________
Kyle Joiner
IPA LLC
www.thinkipa.com
Duluth, GA
CAMaster Stinger 1 23
FTC, Laser Cross Hair
Vectric V Carve Pro
Remote Handheld Keypad
Solid Edge 2020
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2020, 05:26 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,815
Default

Yes, playing with various settings for the actual tool can often help you zero in on behavior that's at least close to what you want. Decreasing stepover for that toolpath really cuts down the bite, but the balancing act is that it also slows down the completion of the toolpath. Nature of the beast. :)
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2020, 06:19 PM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarwes View Post
For the OP, try ramping inside pocket cuts for the holes. That'll give you more options for leads and ramps. You have have to end up drawing a smaller hole inside the finished hole and running 2 toolpaths, one to clear and one to finish to size.

I made a typo, I meant to say ".....try a ramping inside PROFILE cut for the holes....."
__________________
Wes
Elite CNC Routing & Woodworks on Facebook
Steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
WinCNC
VcarvePro 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum, phenolic plenum
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-13-2020, 09:17 AM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,434
Default

If I'm creating a rectangle pocket, I just draw a few rectangles the distance apart that I want my stepover to be. Then I profile cut inside each successive rectangle using the spiral profile tool path. Takes only a few extra seconds (you can use the offset tool to make all the new, smaller vectors).
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-13-2020, 12:11 PM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarwes View Post
Oh how I wish Vectric would come out with a ramping interpolating pocket toolpath for holes. A member on here wrote a gadget for this but it looks like it has to be programmed and set at certain XY points on the table, not for "selecting every hole after you've laid out or nested your design". I would love one that you can select all the holes on your nest and it automatically apply the interpolation to them and figure it out with whatever bit you've selected. Maybe that's in the works.
The latest version will allow you to select ANY circle and create a spiral for cutting. You could even select a shape like a rectangle, but it always creates circular spirals.

https://forum.vectric.com/viewtopic.php?f=51&t=32546
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.