CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-17-2020, 08:37 PM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,666
Default

Marsimi,

It is hard to read your screen image but I think it reads Y47 before the failure. Iím not sure of the line number but open your .tap file with a note editor. Then right down the y value on the line that fails. You can type that line or just the y value into the command line on the WinCNC screen. I assume youíll get the Y+ error.

Another thing to try.
Using your mouse click on the green box next to Y value. This gives you the location relative to table zero, instead of your temporary Y.
Using the arrow keys just move in Y direction manually until it hits the limit value in your .ini file.

Things to do for learning.
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-17-2020, 08:48 PM
MARSIMI MARSIMI is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 37
Default

Thanks Charlie!!

In the Tap file it looks like it is telling the CNC to go to Y47.016 on the failure line. Looking at the win cnc.ini file, I think my Y is set to 49 but the softlim=1 so it is set to abort at 47? This is supposed to cut 48x48 so i am a little surprised but it feels like i need to change the softlim to .5 to get this done. I just am not sure not what else that affects - so always hesitant to just change things

I am new to all of this so this is just my guess - waiting to hear back from the support team. It seems to make sense when looking at the actual work piece, table and file together. I did not try to upload that many pictures :).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-17-2020, 10:10 PM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,666
Default

My limit in WinCNC is a little higher perhaps?

Here is what mine reads:
[***********Soft Limits*************]
lolim=x-3 y-.05 a-1000000
hilim=x53.8 y49.5 z0 a1000000

Remember, if you have a green box, that is not the number the Y value uses for the limit. It uses the absolute or machine numbers, not the job values. Look at your Y displayed in WinCNC without the green box on.

Or, just type in y47.016 and you will get the error because of your green box offset, the job zero.
Maybe?
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-18-2020, 08:03 AM
MARSIMI MARSIMI is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 37
Default

Thanks will give that a try this morning.

What do you have for your softlim setting?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-18-2020, 09:20 AM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,666
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSIMI View Post
Thanks will give that a try this morning.

What do you have for your softlim setting?
[***********Soft Limits*************]
lolim=x-3 y-.05 a-1000000
hilim=x53.8 y49.5 z0 a1000000

Originally it shipped with a setting of Y48
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1

Last edited by Charlie_L; 10-18-2020 at 09:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-18-2020, 09:59 AM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,758
Default

Is your relative Y=0 farther back from the front of the machine? The limits in WINCNC.INI are absolute and "it knows" when you are trying to go too far even if relative Y is under ~49. (I have my Y limit set to ~50.25 which insures I can fully surface my spoilboard and eeks a little more cutting space in that direction without the gantry getting all the way back to the park location)
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-18-2020, 10:57 AM
MARSIMI MARSIMI is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 37
Default

Hey gents thanks!! I moved the Y to 49.5 and restarted and it cut all well, right back to where it was and finished the board so am cutting some more this morning.

I will chat with Camaster in the AM and see if i should move this back further - similar to Jimís

I really appreciate your help on this - being new to all of the software, (vertic, WinCNC and Mosaic) as well as CNCs in general is a steep learning curve.

This was really helpful thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.