CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > CAMaster Routed Signmaking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2021, 03:24 PM
T.R.MacMunn T.R.MacMunn is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mtn.Grove Ontario
Posts: 2,411
Default Dumbass

I'd be a lot more productive if I didn't make so many stupid mistakes .... I mean REALLY STUPID. It takes only a minor interruption to derail my train of thought, & the results are often costly.
Hopefully this rectifies all this stupidity. I've called myself way more names than I have all other people combined.
Yes, I've mastered EVERY one of the noted mistakes.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DumbassSign.jpg (92.1 KB, 139 views)
__________________
TR
www.trmacsigns.com
CAMaster MC4836 named Jemima
Aspire 3.5
Mach3
CoreldrawX3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2021, 04:49 PM
1601chief 1601chief is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Bowdoin,ME
Posts: 55
Default Great sign

I know we should ask for files but could you please release this one?

HA HA
__________________
Andrew Pierce

Stinger I
Aspire v10.5
Wincnc
FTC
Laser Pointer
2 1/4 hp router
Performance Pkg Basic
Recoil Lathe
Digitizing Probe
KRS Keypad
Donek Drag-knife
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2021, 05:00 PM
rcnewcomb rcnewcomb is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Posts: 66
Default

And one that still bites me: Does the Z-Zero of the JOB match the Z-Zero of the MACHINE?
__________________
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

Last edited by rcnewcomb; 03-22-2021 at 05:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2021, 05:54 PM
Ken Rychlik Ken Rychlik is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SW Houston
Posts: 139
Default

Even with Mach3, you should be able to have the router turn on and off automatically with the file.
__________________
Fixing machines and making sawdust.
SW side of Houston
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2021, 06:35 PM
T.R.MacMunn T.R.MacMunn is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mtn.Grove Ontario
Posts: 2,411
Default

Ken , I have a 3.25 Porter Cable. I shut it off to change bits, because if the power goes off & the computer shuts down, even for a second, the router fires up. It would be a good way to get hurt.
BTW, I always zero to the top of the material, but I have been known to forget to zero when I change bits. Among other stupid stuff. Hence the sign.
__________________
TR
www.trmacsigns.com
CAMaster MC4836 named Jemima
Aspire 3.5
Mach3
CoreldrawX3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2021, 07:20 PM
G Hussey G Hussey is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Woodville Alabama
Posts: 6
Default

Need to add Y is not up. Paused a job and tried to raise the bit and clicked the up arrow on the screen broke my first bit and trashed the project.
__________________
SR44 StingerII
3.5hp Milwaukee router
ftc option
laser pointer
t slot bed
Vectric 10.5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-22-2021, 08:06 PM
drummerjg drummerjg is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Addison, PA
Posts: 1,176
Default

I duuno, TR, this sign just aint up to the classiness of your other work
__________________
Joe Garber
Retired Hobbyist
Stinger 1 SR24
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
Indexing Lathe
WinCNC, Aspire 9.5, PhotoCarve
Storm Vacuum
drummerjg@icloud.com


How to count to 10 in Windows:
1,2,3,95,NT,2000,XP,Vista,7,8,10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2021, 12:21 PM
jdonaldson jdonaldson is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 78
Default

I'm just glad to see someone who has a workbench that looks like mine on a
good day
__________________
John

Stinger SR23, 1.7KW
Storm Vacuum, performance
package, Epilog Helix
Aspire 8.5, coral draw 7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2021, 09:16 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 2,045
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drummerjg View Post
I duuno, TR, this sign just aint up to the classiness of your other work
Yea, it's too symmetrical... :)
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-24-2021, 01:42 PM
neal_meyers_jr neal_meyers_jr is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guyton, Ga
Posts: 686
Send a message via Skype™ to neal_meyers_jr
Cool

I remember hearing $hi* during the first sign 101 class. Had something to do with forgetting to swap a 0.25 bit for a small v bit to cut sandmask...LOL
__________________
Owner with Recoil



Neal Meyers Jr
Guyton Ga
Aspire 4.0, WinCNC, Rhino, Mastercam, Autocad, Catia.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.