CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Panther Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-08-2021, 05:13 PM
Logan Y Logan Y is online now
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Kansas
Posts: 258
Default

It would likely need to be a tracked bobcat for it to work since those are typically larger and have a lifting capacity to match. The wheeled versions are usually in the 2-3k lbs range lifting wise. If you can get his model number you should be able to find the rated lifting capacity online. Also make sure that it will reach high enough. Depending on the flatbed height you could be looking at a pretty high reach and even if the bobcat could lift that at ground level lifting 5k lbs 6 foot up in the air is another set of issues.

I know you want to save money (we all do) but don't wreck a huge investment by using equipment that is riding the limits on lifting capacity. A true large forklift or telehandler is probably going to be your best bet. Even with delivery charges if you don't have a way to haul them you might only be in it $750 to do it right. Another option is to look around at equipment movers and see if you can hire someone to unload it for you that already has all the necessary equipment. That way if something goes wrong it falls back on their insurance and your investment is covered.
__________________
4'x8' Stinger IV w/ 4.2 hp spindle and 4 tool ATC
Mister system
Phenolic Vac table
Hurricane Vac
Vcarve Pro 10



Catholic school IT director, wannabe woodworker, Krav Maga instructor, and CNC enthusiast
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-08-2021, 05:39 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 2,045
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugene View Post
wondering if bobcat has the mas to work. i have contractor that has fork exstentions for his bobcat.
Depends on the size and capacity of the Bobcat.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-08-2021, 06:14 PM
William William is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 45
Default

For my Cobra I went the other direction and hired a machine rigger to take delivery, move it to the shop, and set it precisely where I wanted it. It was expensive for sure but the piece of mind (they're bonded and insured) and the zero effort on my part, were worth it for me.

- William
__________________
Cobra Elite 408, ATC, 5 hp spindel, vacuum table, 4th axis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.