CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > FUSION 360

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2018, 07:33 PM
browndawg browndawg is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Western,Mass
Posts: 10
Default Fusion 360 Post Processor

Greetings: Is anyone using the latest pp for wincnc? Is it working to your satisfaction? Any users out there what to collaborate on working on some thing that works? There has been a few posts on this. This forum is a great tool.
Any one interested please chime in.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2018, 11:40 AM
krossdal krossdal is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Iceland
Posts: 75
Default

Hi browndawg

I've been using a PP that I found on this forum about a 1-1/2 year ago. I've modified it so I can use the 4th axis and also added some properties to it to be able to use two length offsets etc.

I use Fusion 360 every day in my business. Right now I'm trying to figure out how to get the PP to work for the Flow toolpath. I'm getting wrong Z and A values at the moment.

It's more than welcome to share that PP if you're interested.
__________________
Kristjan Krossdal
Iceland
Stinger III - 2017

Options and upgrades:
3.0KW HSD spindle, FTC, Laser Cross Hair, Counter Balance, Digitizing Probe, Remote Handheld Keypad, Indexing Lathe and a 6" gantry overtravel.

Software:
Vectric VCarve and Fusion 360.

kristjan@krossdal.is
www.krossdal.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2018, 01:58 PM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by browndawg View Post
Greetings: Is anyone using the latest pp for wincnc? Is it working to your satisfaction? Any users out there what to collaborate on working on some thing that works? There has been a few posts on this. This forum is a great tool.
Any one interested please chime in.
Well, actually, yes.

I just took a closer look at Fusion360 since Sketchup is not meeting some of my requirements (notably, CNC integration). I'm curious about the present state of the Fusion460 PP for CAMaster and am willing, perhaps able, to help move that task forward if that's needed.

Looks like we might be neighbors too as I'm also in western Mass.
__________________
Mike Davison
Stinger II 4x4, Recoil, spindle, FTC, Aspire, Sketchup
http://www.DavisonWoodworks.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2018, 02:49 PM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 177
Default

I've been meaning to try Kristjan's post, but haven't got around to it. It's easy enough for me to design something in Fusion360, use the free Shaper Utilities Add-In found at Autodesk, export SVGs, import them into Aspire, and resize them. While I spent a lot of time playing with the Fusion 360 CAM before learning Aspire, it's a bit easier to create tool paths in Aspire, and the simulation output is awesome. And I've modified the Vectric posts a bit for FTC. I actually get to see the tool description and tool path name at the tool change pause. (Posted in a thread somewhere here.)

If you have Vcarve and would like to export from Sketchup to VCarve without any hassle, you can sign up for the Fabber beta at https://www.getfabber.com. I played with it a bit, and while it's beta, it works really well.
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2018, 03:23 PM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krossdal View Post
Hi browndawg

I've been using a PP that I found on this forum about a 1-1/2 year ago. I've modified it so I can use the 4th axis and also added some properties to it to be able to use two length offsets etc.

I use Fusion 360 every day in my business. Right now I'm trying to figure out how to get the PP to work for the Flow toolpath. I'm getting wrong Z and A values at the moment.

It's more than welcome to share that PP if you're interested.
I'd like to fiddle a bit with Fusion360 and this PP. Thanks for sharing!
__________________
Mike Davison
Stinger II 4x4, Recoil, spindle, FTC, Aspire, Sketchup
http://www.DavisonWoodworks.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2018, 03:25 PM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DVE2000 View Post
If you have Vcarve and would like to export from Sketchup to VCarve without any hassle, you can sign up for the Fabber beta at https://www.getfabber.com. I played with it a bit, and while it's beta, it works really well.
Well, I guess we're veered off from Fusion360, but what does Fabber support? the web site is totally content free.
__________________
Mike Davison
Stinger II 4x4, Recoil, spindle, FTC, Aspire, Sketchup
http://www.DavisonWoodworks.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2018, 03:57 PM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.davison View Post
Well, I guess we're veered off from Fusion360, but what does Fabber support? the web site is totally content free.
Yeah, you get Dropbox and forum links once they sign you up, but pretty much there's a Vectric Gadget and a Ruby installer for Sketchup. You take a Sketchup design - as is and assembled - and you run the Sketchup plugin, or whatever they call it. You then run the Gadget in Vcarve/Aspire and it lays out the pieces flat as vectors for you. You'll have to use the vectors to create toolpaths yourself.
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.