CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > Vectric - Aspire

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2020, 10:23 PM
streamlinePA streamlinePA is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 13
Default Best way to set up this tool path?

Hi:
What is the best way to set this up in Vcarve pro? ( I am new to this)
The black lines will be vectors.
I want to run a 3/8" grooves/ dado's...centered on the black lines.
Planning to use 1/4" end mill.
I can't just use a 3/8" end mill because one side comes out cleaner then the other.
Because of the finish, I want to run both sides of the groove/ dado in the same climb/convention direction.
(run 1 side, reverse direction and run the other side) Or run all the vectors in one pass and then run the other side of the groove in the reverse direction.
Almost like taking each line as a pocket cut, but I don't want to set each line up that way.
Hope I am explaining this correctly?
Thanks! Jim

Last edited by streamlinePA; 02-05-2020 at 10:25 PM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2020, 12:41 AM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,563
Default

Jim,

There is almost always more than one way to solve questions.

I'd start my experimenting with the concept of two cuts like you describe. To accomplish I'd use a profile cut, but not "on" the vector. Use inside or outside or both along with an "offset" dimension in the toolpath. The offset will move the tool closer back on top of the vector. Finally, play with the "start" tab and maybe change start point of the vectors using node edit if needed.

I'm sure someone will help with a more detailed solution but this might get you pointed in a direction too?
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2020, 09:53 AM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 424
Default

Any particular reason you want a pocket instead of a Vcarve? Vcarving would be so much easier and leave sharp corners on the outside ends.

If you don't want a Vcarve, you might try selecting all of the vectors, go to Vcarve toolpath, set up the intial toolpath with a Vbit and then select "clearing toolpath", set it to the 1/4" end mill, create the toolpaths, run the preview turning off the Vbit toolpath and see what it does. If it does what you want, just select the clearing toolpath and save it and run it.
__________________
Wes
Elite CNC Routing & Woodworks on Facebook
Steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
WinCNC
VcarvePro 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum, phenolic plenum
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2020, 10:33 AM
streamlinePA streamlinePA is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 13
Default

I am open to anything ( pocket, vcarve etc) like I said I am new to this.
The concern I have is being able to reverse direction and cut the other side of the groove. If I don't change direction one side will be conventional cut and the other climb, yes?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2020, 11:25 AM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,423
Default

VCarve toolpath with a V-Bit is going to be the simplest to cut this as a "single vector" after you trace and clean it up if it's already not a vector drawing. Using an end mill is certainly doable but I'd probably break that up into the straight lines and then the scalloped paths from a vector standpoint and either cut "on" the line or as Charlie recommends by using inside or outside with an offset.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2020, 11:39 AM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 424
Default

Most of the time, the Vcarve toolpath will cut on the inside of each line within the enclosed vectors. Use a small bit diameter or shallower pass depth and it will make passes on the inside of each line resulting in a smooth finish if you have your feeds and speeds correct.

That drawing may come out wonky if you bitmap trace it, but shouldn't be very hard to draw to get good vectors.
__________________
Wes
Elite CNC Routing & Woodworks on Facebook
Steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
WinCNC
VcarvePro 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum, phenolic plenum
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-06-2020, 12:46 PM
streamlinePA streamlinePA is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 13
Default

I am open to anything ( pocket, profile, vcarve etc or maybe there is another vcarve function) like I said I am new to this.
The concern I have is being able to reverse direction and cut the other side of the groove. If I don't change direction one side will be conventional cut and the other climb, yes?
I will be setting up similar versions of this design in the future.
Maybe I need to do 2 tool paths? 1 offset to 1 side and 1 offset to the other side and reverse direction?
Thanks for any suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2020, 01:12 PM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 424
Default

What material do you plan to use for this? Don't be so concerned about the conventional/climb cut with Vcarving. Use a good sharp bit and go at it with the correct feeds/speeds.
__________________
Wes
Elite CNC Routing & Woodworks on Facebook
Steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
WinCNC
VcarvePro 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum, phenolic plenum
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-2020, 04:49 PM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,563
Default

Yes. You understand correctly that if using a profile you would probably have 2 or more toolpaths. Basically doing a climb on one side of the vector and then a second climb on the other side in the opposite direction. Both having an offset.
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.