CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > New CNC Setup. > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2018, 03:47 PM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 425
Default Mdf to phenolic

I couldn't find very much info on adhering a MDF spoilboard to a phenolic plenum, not just screwing it down. Has anyone done this or does most everyone just drill and tap the phenolic and bolt the MDF to it?
I'm trying to avoid having to turn the vac pump on everytime I cut sometime to pull the spoilboard down to the plenum.
Any advice would be great on what your solution was.
__________________
Wes
Elite CNC Routing & Woodworks on Facebook
Steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
WinCNC
VcarvePro 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum, phenolic plenum
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2018, 08:26 PM
Hallex Hallex is offline
Camaster owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Al
Posts: 122
Default

I silicone the edges of mine
__________________
Camhead FAN
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2018, 08:43 PM
Joey Jarrard's Avatar
Joey Jarrard Joey Jarrard is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calhoun, GA
Posts: 3,211
Default

3M double sided tape. Tape it turn on vac for a few minutes and then surface.
*this is all after you surface one side and flip over.
__________________
Joey Jarrard

US Router Tools
888-720-TOOL (8665)
www.usroutertools.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2018, 06:36 AM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
Administrator, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 7,131
Default

I had one machine with a Phenolic and have a phenolic that was never Installed on the Cobra,

I was unsuccessful in adhereing the SB to the phenolic, We do use the Glue down on the Cobra with the MDF Plenum, With the Phenolic I screwed it down with Nylon Hex head bolts.

https://www.mcmaster.com/nylon-bolts
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC

www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Mcgrew-W...=page_internal

Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
https://video.nest.com/live/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2018, 07:47 AM
srhardwoods srhardwoods is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 100
Default

I have MDF on my phenolic plenum. Best way is to make a file that drills and countersinks holes through the MDF into the phenolic plenum. Then pull the MDF off, tap the holes in the phenolic, silicone all around the perimeter, then install the MDF, use nylon screws to adhere the MDF. paint the edges. I did that 2.5 years ago, still using the same piece of MDF. I use a 1/4" MDF as my sacrificial board. I get about 30 sheets of material out of the 1/4" MDF. I have never had to replace the 3/4" MDF.

I'll take some pics when I get in the shop
__________________
Chris Vickers
Somerton Ridge hardwoods
www.srhardwoods.com

Cobra 510
10HP ATC
Vacuum Table
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2018, 12:47 PM
srhardwoods srhardwoods is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 100
Default

Here are the photo's
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0716.jpg (88.8 KB, 136 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0715.jpg (92.3 KB, 130 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0714.jpg (93.4 KB, 124 views)
__________________
Chris Vickers
Somerton Ridge hardwoods
www.srhardwoods.com

Cobra 510
10HP ATC
Vacuum Table
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2018, 02:45 PM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 406
Default

I just said in another thread that Luke suggested Shurtape indoor/outdoor carpet tape to me. It works really well. https://www.lowes.com/search?searchT...pe+carpet+tape
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire

Last edited by DVE2000; 08-06-2019 at 05:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-01-2018, 02:52 PM
dwolbeck dwolbeck is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Heisler, Alberta
Posts: 161
Default

Gary,
Do you just tape the perimeter of each zone. Or a few spots in the middle too?
__________________
Dennis Wolbeck

SR-44
Performance Package
3.25 HP router
T-slot table
Vcarve software
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-2018, 03:08 PM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwolbeck View Post
Gary,
Do you just tape the perimeter of each zone. Or a few spots in the middle too?
Luke had said that the perimeter is enough, but I had to trim the thickness of the tape and had these long pieces left over, so I added a little square piece of tape to every second square piece of phenolic. Iíve seen MDF move before, so I think this was a good thing to do. Iím not always cutting with the vacuum turned on.
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2018, 04:44 PM
dwolbeck dwolbeck is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Heisler, Alberta
Posts: 161
Default

Yep. That would be my thinking as well.
__________________
Dennis Wolbeck

SR-44
Performance Package
3.25 HP router
T-slot table
Vcarve software
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.