CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The Water Cooler > The Water Cooler

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-16-2019, 07:59 AM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,516
Default

I meant you could use the keyboard arrows to move it near the zero points, then initialize. Changing the park is another good way.
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-16-2019, 10:05 AM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 363
Default

This is obvious, but you can "park" your machine anywhere, but the "PARK" button on the control screen may be set to a specific location way away from machine X0Y0 and does take a while for it to initialize. When I'm done cutting, I get into the habit of jogging the head to about X12Y12 and place a piece of thin foam under the spindle and manually jog the head down to touch the foam. Then I cut the machine off. My warm up/initialization process only takes a minute or two from there when I fire the machine up the next time.

I don't think I would want it to move any faster just in case one of the sensors failed. When you got lots of steel moving fairly quickly the stopping process is a bit more brutal when something goes awry.
__________________
New all-steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
Pop up pins
WinCNC
VcarvePro 8 & 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-16-2019, 10:25 AM
sylvan sylvan is offline
CAMhead owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 93
Default Router

I have my "Park" position set at the back of my table and out of the way. This is where it goes after a job is completed and I need to remove the job from the table. I have set my "Router Home" button to be very close to the Initialize location. So when I start the machine I can click the Router Home button and the gantry will move to the front of the table very quickly. Then hit Initialize and the machine is ready for the day. Takes less than 2 minutes!
__________________
Sylvan Wells
sylvan@wellsguitars.com
Stinger I, SR-23 - Recoil lathe
FTC, Laser
1.7KW spindle
VCarve Pro 8.5
Aspire 10
Windows 10
www.wellsguitars.com
www.baystateguitars.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-16-2019, 12:03 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,312
Default

sylvan's method is a good one because it preserves "Park" for "way out of the way" while still permitting the Initialize routine to only have short travel to do what it does...which is to test Z, X and Y limits so the machine knows where everything is.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-16-2019, 01:40 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Consultants and Trainers
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,973
Default

Moving an axis with servos (at a slower prudent rate) should not cause damage. Can't say the same for steppers.

Some machines, those without red text in the axis position window, will move prior to being initialized. Others will not.

The best solution for those machines that will not move with jog arrows or keypad prior to being initialized is to park the machine closer to the machine home. That said the homing rates can be changed via the INI settings and the manual shows which settings.

That said, since I have been in the building, and have worked with the tech team to develop those settings, and since I have SURELY seen the damage when a fast machine drives past a bad switch or loose wire, I will not point out the exact settings.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-17-2019, 08:25 PM
The real JP The real JP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 593
Default

I park at the opposite of home as well. I just fast arrow down close to home and initialize. So poor boy for me.
__________________
Jpscustomshop@gmail.com

Industrial electrician by day, Cabinet and furniture maker by evening and weekend. Cnc newb.

June 2017 Stinger 3 SR48
3kw spindle, FTC, Laser, Recoil, Hurricane
V Carve, Mozaik
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-18-2019, 12:13 AM
Robert Alexander Robert Alexander is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The real JP View Post
I park at the opposite of home as well. I just fast arrow down close to home and initialize. So poor boy for me.
Same here. I park my gantry at the far end of the machine bed at the end of the work day.. And turn eveything off and unplug all cords. Then when I am ready to start up the CNC, I will jog the gantry to about 5 inches of the bottom left, where my home position is and initialize the X,Y and Z positions.
__________________
Proud owner of a Camaster Cobra 410
WinCNC
Epilog Helix laser engraver
Corel X8 Autosketch 9 Aspire 9.5

"The escalator to sucsess is out of order.... you will need to take the stairs."
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-05-2019, 05:15 PM
Steve Lynch Steve Lynch is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buford, Ga.
Posts: 236
Send a message via Skype™ to Steve Lynch
Default

Okay,
I got my little dilemma sorted out. It is in the manual around page 47.. I just couldn't find mine... I forgot I had put all relevant documentation in a PVC tube magneted to the bottom of the table.. Doh! It's the G28 settings. Mine was set at 20 ipm... that's ridiculous! I was able to change it, and all is happy in Steve land now.

I'm not recommending you go changing everything in your .ini file.. When you start playing, it's "At Your Own Risk".

On My .ini, the G28 settings header starts at line 81.

These dark Orange variables are the editable fields for the G28 section.

g28move=z-.25 f40 *****No reason to edit this. Leave it slow, unless of course you enjoy slamming your spindle into the table, in which case, Crank er' up!*****

g28move=x4.763 y0.397 f20 *****This "F Value" is the speed. I was told specifically by "Those who assemble these machines" that anything under and up to 500 is safe with the end stop switches, though for "Damage Control" reasons mentioned in earlier portions of this thread, I would not speed it up too much, in case there was ever some sort of failure.******

g28altmove=y -.001 *****This value is for the Dual Y axis squaring move...You should not under any circumstances touch this*****

If you're not comfortable with completely re-doing your .ini file, I'd copy and paste an emergency backup copy, and call it wincncGood.ini or something like that, in case you fat finger something, and can't put it back the way it was.

Lastly, I spoke to Teknic, the servo drive manufacturer. They stated that while it's not good practice to move them manually, it really will not hurt them, and people do it all the time. So that answers the Servo question. Steppers regenerate a good deal of power, so that's a no-no on moving them manually,as you could back feed power to your board, and that's like.. well, not good!

Enjoy!
__________________
Brandy New Panther PT-408 8" Gantry
Phenolic Top, Servos, Counter Balance, 4 H.P. Spindle, Laser, Hurricane Vacuum, And FTC.
Win CNC 3.0, & Aspire 9.X
And A Nice Clear Lexan Magnetic Dust Boot To Finish It Off.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-05-2019, 10:14 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,312
Default

What did you change that value to? 'Just curious...
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.