CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > CAMaster's PR-Series Plasma Router

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2011, 10:53 PM
T.R.MacMunn T.R.MacMunn is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mtn.Grove Ontario
Posts: 2,269
Default Z-motor

Joey & crew ........ I just broke another shaft on my Z-axis motor, exactly where the first one broke, except a cleaner break. It seems odd that I keep breaking these .... could there be something I'm doing wrong? I can't imagine that I'm working it too hard ...... I don't think I've ever even cut hardwood on her ..... White Pine, Cedar, Corafoam & an oval out of 6mm DiBond once. Plus. I really don't use it a lot.

This motor was different from the first one, so it can't be just a bad batch.
Glen thought maybe that things might not be lined up properly & putting stress on it. I have no idea if that could be or not.

Anyway, I had another one in stock, so I was only down about 3 hours. It messed up a $600 sheet of CoraFoam pretty bad though but I think I can repair it.

The new motor "sounds" different from the other one ....... much quieter & it has that nice whine to it. This one sounds like the original did.
Glen also mentioned that another manufacturer uses much more expensive motors ....... to the tune of about $300. Are there higher quality motors out there (stepper) or are they just making some good profits? I'd rather buy a $300 motor than waste an expensive board.
Should I just get a case of them?

Joey, Jim, somebody ........ please move this ....... I got it in the wrong sub-forum.
Thanks
TR
__________________
TR
www.trmacsigns.com
CAMaster MC4836 named Jemima
Aspire 3.5
Mach3
CoreldrawX3

Last edited by T.R.MacMunn; 07-27-2011 at 11:09 PM. Reason: wrong place
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2011, 11:55 PM
Joey Jarrard's Avatar
Joey Jarrard Joey Jarrard is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calhoun, GA
Posts: 3,207
Default

TR I will be under the knife in the am. Please give Paul a ring at the shop. We have got some new motors in with a 3/8" shaft. We should be able to get a coupler to you as well. The 1/4" have broke 6 - 8 now out of the 100's we have out. But we wanted to beef it up with the larger shaft. Get with the guys and they will hook you up.
__________________
Joey Jarrard

US Router Tools
888-720-TOOL (8665)
www.usroutertools.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2011, 01:45 AM
T.R.MacMunn T.R.MacMunn is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mtn.Grove Ontario
Posts: 2,269
Default

Thanks Joey
I probably won't call for a couple of weeks or more. Calgary bound......

I think I've saved the sheet .....the shaft broke just before it was to make a quick move to the other side of the board. It left a perfect channel, 3/4" deep by 1/4" wide in one very fast pass. The different sound is what caught my attention.
I just ripped a piece to fit & glued it on the bottom only because I'm sandblastingthe area where it is & I don't want a glue line there. I'll just add some extra hi-build primer in there & "poof"...... good as new.

Good luck with the slicin' & dicin'
__________________
TR
www.trmacsigns.com
CAMaster MC4836 named Jemima
Aspire 3.5
Mach3
CoreldrawX3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2011, 04:49 AM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,424
Default

Could it be that it was installed with too much tension on the belt
Mick
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9.5 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2011, 10:41 AM
Mark Johnston Mark Johnston is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Prescott AZ
Posts: 828
Default

Hey Mick,

I'm not sure how the stinger is set up but my MC which is what TR has if I'm not mistaken doesn't have a belt on the Z, it's a direct connect. The stepping motor connects directly to the shaft on the Z through a coupler.

TR- where did the shaft break, and how hard was it to replace?

Thanks,
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-28-2011, 11:56 AM
T.R.MacMunn T.R.MacMunn is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mtn.Grove Ontario
Posts: 2,269
Default

Mark is correct ........ direct drive.
On both of these motors, the shaft has snapped almost flush with where the shaft exits the motor.
__________________
TR
www.trmacsigns.com
CAMaster MC4836 named Jemima
Aspire 3.5
Mach3
CoreldrawX3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2011, 12:41 PM
Mark Johnston Mark Johnston is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Prescott AZ
Posts: 828
Default

TR,

I had a little movement in my Z and was trying to adjust it out. I tightened everything that CAMaster told me to do and also loosened the 2 bolts the shaft sets in at the bottom and moved that up on the shaft. I think I got all the movement out so I'm going to run it today and see how it performs. When you try to get any movement in the Z by shaking the router is yours ready tight? If you changed the Z shaft you must of had to do the adjustments. My Z shaft hasn't broken so I hope that by tightening things up a bit it doesn't put more stress on the shaft.

I've spent the last couple days adjusting the X and Y axis as well (changed the X axis belt), took pictures and I think I've learned quite a bit about how that all works.

I've been trying to do the V-Inlay that a lot of the Aspire guys are doing and the machine has to be really accurate to make all the necessary cuts. Will run my final test today and get it glued up and see how it comes out tomorrow.

Good luck with your machine.
Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.