CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > New CNC Setup. > Vacuum, work holding, dust collection

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2019, 02:23 PM
SCHEPEBC SCHEPEBC is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 138
Default Kurt vice mount to table anyone?

I have a job that is keeping the mills busy and i have these two routers just sitting here for the next week. It is lower tolerance work but vice work for sure. Was seeing if anyone has ever mounted a 6" vice to the table to run certain set ups. I have a phenolic tops with an MDF spoil board on top of both and didn't know if anyone has modded their tables to accept a machining vices besides screwing it to the MDF.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2019, 02:39 PM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,396
Default

I have a couple wood vises that I made and mounted to the front of my Cobra (with index pins so I can place them in the same spot every time). I machined the faces on the front and back so they are both lined up the same, so I can hold longer pieces in both vises.

These aren't high quality, but they sure are slick for quickly holding pieces in place. I have also glued jigs to the top of these vises, then machined them off when I was done using them.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4880.jpg (63.3 KB, 105 views)
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2019, 02:58 PM
drummerjg drummerjg is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Addison, PA
Posts: 1,075
Default

Russell, those are pretty cool looking vises. Would you mind sharing some basic dimensions? Are they made from maple?
__________________
Joe Garber
Retired Hobbyist
Stinger 1 SR24
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
Indexing Lathe
WinCNC, Aspire 9.5, PhotoCarve
Storm Vacuum
drummerjg@icloud.com


How to count to 10 in Windows:
1,2,3,95,NT,2000,XP,Vista,7,8,10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2019, 03:43 PM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,396
Default

They are maple. I just used 8/4 maple planed down to about 1.75". They are 10" wide and about 16" long. I just used 5/8" threaded steel rod and pocketed hexagons for nuts to sit in (one on both sides of the sliding block). I used two thin nuts locked together on the rod in a pocket for the back piece to hold the rod in position, and the front just passes through a hole and then is locked onto a handle with a nut on each side. Very simple. The centre block slides along a waxed dado with fairly tight tolerance.

It more than enough clamping force to hold any wood piece firmly in place. Maybe enough clamping force for aluminum or brass. Not enough for steel.
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2019, 05:12 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is online now
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,610
Default

The wood vice setup is really nice...and a little less, um...detrimental...to tooling if a human mistake ensues. I don't believe I'd use a metal vice on my machine for that reason...I just "know" I'll screw up. (And I actually hit a screw yesterday and buggered an expensive .375" end mill as a result...)
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2019, 05:20 PM
LunaSea Mods LunaSea Mods is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Santa Margarita, CA
Posts: 3
Default

This may be more than you had in mind but I removed 18” off the front of my table, redid the vacuum table and mounted a 1” aluminum slab across the front, milled the face and mounted 3 Kurt vices across and it worked well for the project I was doing, a few thousand items each with several operations on 2-4 sides so I could move from one vise to the other and get best use out of each tool change.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg stinger.jpg (87.0 KB, 95 views)
__________________
Keith Dillon
LunaSea Design

Stinger 2 Fully loaded/Wincnc
Aspire
BobCad Cam
Cabnetware/S2M
AutoCAD
Solidworks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-08-2019, 06:07 PM
SCHEPEBC SCHEPEBC is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 138
Default

Those are some pretty cool wood vices! If I didn’t have a few Kurt vices laying around I might have bothered you for some dimensions haha
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-08-2019, 06:11 PM
SCHEPEBC SCHEPEBC is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LunaSea Mods View Post
This may be more than you had in mind but I removed 18” off the front of my table, redid the vacuum table and mounted a 1” aluminum slab across the front, milled the face and mounted 3 Kurt vices across and it worked well for the project I was doing, a few thousand items each with several operations on 2-4 sides so I could move from one vise to the other and get best use out of each tool change.
I was actually thinking of doing something similar and changing the zones around on the vacuum table. I want to do it on the machine with the tool changer on it to get the best use out of it. I like how you have that set up though thanks for the post!
Btw, I also just bought that coolant mister you have on your machine from amazon about 10 mins ago. I am going to use it as an air blast but I am very much looking forward to that.

Last edited by SCHEPEBC; 12-08-2019 at 06:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-08-2019, 07:26 PM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,523
Default

I've been tempted but my Kurt is almost 5" tall.
I have the attached Pdf on my to do list. It's a basic vise but I can see a lot of uses for it. Maybe next year!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Drill Vice.pdf (3.50 MB, 39 views)
__________________
Bruce Page
Retired Hobbyist
2013 Stinger 1 SR23
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
KRS USB Keypad
Mick Martin Table
Aspire 10, WinCNC
Chips-a-flyin’
brucep128@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-09-2019, 07:43 AM
The real JP The real JP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 702
Default

I bolted a machine vice to a partial sheet of plywood and used the vacuum to hold the whole mess down. If it were more than a short job I would have just screwed the plywood to the cnc so I wouldn't have to listen to the vac.

Just a tip, don't run your $150 bit into the machine vice.....Twice......
__________________
Jpscustomshop@gmail.com

Industrial electrician by day, Cabinet and furniture maker by evening and weekend. Cnc newb.

June 2017 Stinger 3 SR48
3kw spindle, FTC, Laser, Recoil, Hurricane
V Carve, Mozaik
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.