CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Recoil Indexing Lathe (4th Axis)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-02-2019, 08:49 PM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcrawford View Post
I'd post some pictures, but I can't seem to get pictures to work on this forum anymore. . .
If you happen to be using an iPhone, and have the latest IOS version, by default it doesn't save JPEGs anymore. It uses a more efficient and less lossy compression called HEIF, which this forum can't handle. You can go to camera options and choose "Most Compatible" instead of "High Efficiency" to save photos as jpegs again.
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire

Last edited by DVE2000; 01-02-2019 at 09:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-02-2019, 09:16 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,310
Default

Russell, that's quite the adaptation you describe with using the traditional lathe in place of the recoil. Very kewel!
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-02-2019, 09:59 PM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 529
Default

Very create Russell. Thanks for sharing the details.
__________________
Mike Davison www.DavisonWoodworks.com
Stinger II with Recoil, GCNC Sidewinder Lathe, Aspire, Sketchup
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-02-2019, 10:33 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Consultants and Trainers
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,973
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcrawford View Post
I recently removed the recoil from my Cobra and set my variable speed lathe up in its place (fastened it to the concrete to hold it in position).

I'd post some pictures, but I can't seem to get pictures to work on this forum anymore. . .
#1: If there are no pictures, it didn't happen!!

#2: If there is no video, it doesn't work!!
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-03-2019, 08:36 AM
neal_meyers_jr neal_meyers_jr is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guyton, Ga
Posts: 673
Send a message via Skype™ to neal_meyers_jr
Cool

Very nice work. Now that my Barn is up and running I am looking forward to getting back into the rotary work too.
__________________
Owner with Recoil



Neal Meyers Jr
Guyton Ga
Aspire 4.0, WinCNC, Rhino, Mastercam, Autocad, Catia.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-03-2019, 08:44 AM
neal_meyers_jr neal_meyers_jr is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guyton, Ga
Posts: 673
Send a message via Skype™ to neal_meyers_jr
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Campbell View Post
#1: If there are no pictures, it didn't happen!!

#2: If there is no video, it doesn't work!!

Gary you forgot " If it is on tv or the internet it IS true."

Also if your CNC did not come with the indexing option it may not have the over travel to reach a stand alone lathe.

I like the idea Russel and had thought about doing the same thing with a VS pen lathe as an experiment. Gary's inspiration. I was going to attach it to the recoil rails and test it.
__________________
Owner with Recoil



Neal Meyers Jr
Guyton Ga
Aspire 4.0, WinCNC, Rhino, Mastercam, Autocad, Catia.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-03-2019, 10:03 AM
SteveNelson46 SteveNelson46 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcrawford View Post
Yes, I dragged the lathe over to the position that the recoil was (After removing the recoil completely) and then set it up thin shims to be exactly parallel to the Y axis (and consistent Z from headstock to tailstock), then fastened it to the concrete so it wouldn't shake out of position. Then I just use the spindle as a lathe tool.

I can round a 30" x 2" square block in about 3 minutes, to a perfect 2" round. I did this so I could make some turned legs for a Hans Wegner chair I reproduced, and it worked wonderfully. I use a 1/2" end mill to round the blank in a single pass, then a 1/2" ballnose to cut the profile in a single pass. I turn the lathe at 175rpm in reverse and move the gantry up the Y axis at 10ipm with the spindle at 18000rpm. Then I lock the indexer and cut in my mortises. This set-up has worked WAY more efficiently than the recoil ever did, and I can turn the lathe up to 1200rpm to make sanding easier.

Just for fun, I cut a bunch of french rolling pins for family for christmas. Single pass (no rounding pass first), 90 seconds each plus time for sanding on the lathe. Having the morse taper is much handier than the recoil threaded rod as well. . .
Russ,

This sounds like a great idea for just spindle work. Unless the Cobra actually controls the rotation of the lathe you may have some difficulty with 3D carving or spirals.
__________________
Steve
__________________
Camaster Stinger 1 with Recoil (2018)
FTC
1hp Spindle
Laser
Wireless Pendant
Aspire 9.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.