CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2019, 07:46 PM
Clayton.Lott Clayton.Lott is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 22
Default Screaming bit

Need some help for the new guy. Cutting 1/2 5x5 birch with 1/4 in upcut and it screams unbearably. I've tried rpm ranges of 10000 to 16000 and Ipm ranges of 50 to 150 with no changes. Also tried a second brand new bit. Throw some knowledge out there for me guys. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2019, 08:36 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,693
Default

Honestly...nature of the beast. Cuts like that require hearing protection.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2019, 09:18 PM
Clayton.Lott Clayton.Lott is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 22
Default

So this is something I should expect on all my cuts or is there something I'm doing to cause it? Such as bit size, material, etc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2019, 09:48 PM
Ken Rychlik Ken Rychlik is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SW Houston
Posts: 86
Default

Try bumping your cut speed up to 250 or 300. In my experience a screaming bit is under worked. Need slower spindle speed or faster travel speed. Another thing to watch for is chips. If your making dust, your going to slow. You need to make chips.

Compression bits are the worst for screaming. I still use a lot of straight bits just for this reason.
__________________
Fixing machines and making sawdust.
SW side of Houston

Last edited by Ken Rychlik; 07-01-2019 at 09:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2019, 11:58 PM
bmilam bmilam is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clayton.Lott View Post
So this is something I should expect on all my cuts or is there something I'm doing to cause it? Such as bit size, material, etc
Not necessarily. I really haven't pushed my machine and cut thru in one pass so mine makes little noise compared to dust collector. Other bits I'm sometimes wondering if the bit broke because they are so quiet. Every once in a while I get one that screams like you are talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2019, 01:17 AM
Xray Xray is offline
CAMaster Stinger Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,746
Default

A screaming bit usually indicates a dull bit, and/or one with improper RPM's/feedrate for the job at hand. Could be that you are taking too much of a bite as well, try reducing cut depth if practical.
__________________
Doug

Stinger 1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2019, 04:45 AM
The real JP The real JP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 742
Default

Download a chipload calculator to help you get a starting point with speeds and feeds.

You want chips, not dust. try 13,000-300 you can bump the feed or rpm up or down with the keyboard.

I have the "us tools" app on my iphone. ( red square with chrome US )
It gets me close enough to get cutting.

Think of it like when you use a skillsaw. Go too slow and it burns and shrieks. Go too fast and it gives a splintery cut. Same deal with the router, you'll get used to the sound of it when it is cutting good. Any change will draw your attention.
__________________
Jpscustomshop@gmail.com

Industrial electrician by day, Cabinet and furniture maker by evening and weekend. Cnc newb.

June 2017 Stinger 3 SR48
3kw spindle, FTC, Laser, Recoil, Hurricane
V Carve, Mozaik
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-2019, 09:58 AM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 514
Default

50-150 ipm is WAY too slow for those rpms (10k-16k). Try 12000rpm at 240-300ipm full depth pass. A screaming bit wants to be fed (use slower rpms or faster feed rate).
__________________
Wes
Elite CNC Routing & Woodworks on Facebook
Steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
WinCNC
VcarvePro 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum, phenolic plenum
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-02-2019, 12:17 PM
Clayton.Lott Clayton.Lott is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks. I will try out some of this. Does everyone use two flute bits? Ever try three flutes? Straight bits?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-02-2019, 01:13 PM
tmouse tmouse is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 137
Default

Three flute would need even more speed and slower RPM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.