CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > Vectric - Aspire

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2020, 05:44 AM
razor razor is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 32
Default Help with fluting toolpath

I am using the fluting toolpath to cut an octagonal bed post. It wants to start cutting at the deep end first with no method for ramping in to depth. I would like the path to start at the shallow end and go to the deep end which would not require a ramp as it would occur naturally but cant seem to figure out how. Hoping its something simple.....Thanks in advance
__________________
Ray Melton
Montpelier Va
Panther 408
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2020, 06:26 AM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
Administrator, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 7,152
Default

Where is Start Node set at ?
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC

www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Mcgrew-W...=page_internal

Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
https://video.nest.com/live/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2020, 06:32 AM
razor razor is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 32
Default

Tried changing start point (node) but that changes flute direction. in other words flute is wrong direction. It will work as it is but would prefer not to bury bit in 3/8" into a narrow post 80" long on the recoil. On a test piece, I was waiting for the wood to explode.
__________________
Ray Melton
Montpelier Va
Panther 408
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2020, 08:07 AM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
Administrator, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 7,152
Default

I am baffled all my test this AM started at Shallow end (Start point)

Are you asking for full depth in one pass ? You can set pass depth to less and not "Gouge"

What are you set on Flute type at tool path ?

can you post the crv
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC

www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Mcgrew-W...=page_internal

Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
https://video.nest.com/live/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2020, 01:31 PM
dwolbeck dwolbeck is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Heisler, Alberta
Posts: 163
Default

Did you check the vector selection tab in the tool path menu?
__________________
Dennis Wolbeck

SR-44
Performance Package
3.25 HP router
T-slot table
Vcarve software
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2020, 03:48 PM
razor razor is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 32
Default

OK, so I'm not losing my mind....must be an issue with V10. I tried it in 9.512 and it starts the flute at the shallow end as it should....Thanks
__________________
Ray Melton
Montpelier Va
Panther 408
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-29-2020, 09:22 AM
razor razor is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 32
Default

Well, here's another update....doesn't appear to be an issue with v10 as I was redoing everything in v9.5 and the same thing happened but got different results with 2 different ones.

Being one to not let something go, I kept tinkering and found that it has something to do with spindle travel and efficiency I guess.

For example. if I wanted to start at 0 and flute to .625, the start point would change depending on the depth of cut of the bit. if i used a .25 depth of cut it starts at the shallow end. If I use a .2 depth of cut it starts at the deep end.
Guess I'll manipulate it until I get what I need.
__________________
Ray Melton
Montpelier Va
Panther 408
Aspire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.