CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > How To Use This Forum > CAMheads How 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2019, 08:04 PM
OlenP OlenP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Mooresville ,North Carolina
Posts: 6
Default WINCNC is ln a loop

My 6 week old machine will not move past opening WINCNC. It goes into a loop and the computer locks up. I plan to talk to support on Monday. If anyone has a suggestion I would appreciate the help. This is like a sick child and the doctor wonít be in until Monday.

I made a copy of WINCNC but I donít know how to open it.
Checked all the cables and connections.
Olen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2019, 08:18 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Consultants and Trainers
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,966
Default

We cant see what you see. Post a screenshot of the control computer

Post info about the machine… what model, what size???
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2019, 08:33 PM
Terry Williams Terry Williams is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 253
Default

What do you mean by "goes into a loop" - is it repeatedly doing something or does it just immediately hang at the splash screen?

Are there any error messages?

If it is just immediately hanging, maybe something is hogging RAM. Wincnc freezing like that smells like a low memory situation. Did you install any new software recently that may be automatically running at startup?

You can see how much free ram you have before you run wincnc and then check it after it's started to see how close you are to running out. Just start taskmgr (cntrl-alt-delete and pick taskmgr) then click on the performance tab and then click on memory - see how much is in use and how much is available.

You can see what process is taking the most memory by clicking on the "Processes" tab and then clicking on the "Memory" column to sort by memory usage.

Hope you get it figured out.
__________________
Terry Williams
Cobra 510 with Recoil
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-2019, 09:13 PM
OlenP OlenP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Mooresville ,North Carolina
Posts: 6
Default more info on WINCNC not working

Thank you for answering. Here is the additional info along with pictures of the computer screens.

>When we open WINCNC It looks normal for about 5 seconds and the green start button turns gray. The red stop button lights up and nothing else will work. The mouse , keyboard , CNC initialization will not work.
>If we try to close our WINCNC software it gives an error that says (machine is running , really quit?). The machine is off and was shut down correctly. "No E stop used".
>No additional software has been installed.
>43% of the memory is in use . 0% is being used by WINCNC.
>The machine has worked great since we got it started up.
>Stinger SR24, index lathe , performance package , 1KW spindle , storm vac, laser engraver, metal dust collector duct bonded together all the way to the machine hose and grounded to power ground. In a conditioned basement shop area.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1814.jpg (48.4 KB, 32 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1815.jpg (47.6 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1816.jpg (49.1 KB, 28 views)
__________________
Olen Persons
Stinger SR 24 ,stinger stand ,Storm Vacuum ,1KW Spindle ,Performance Plus , FTC ,Laser Crosshairs ,Counter balance , Laser engraver ,Wireless internet connection ,metal duct to Delta dust collector (grounded & bonded).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-2019, 10:18 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Consultants and Trainers
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,966
Default

Remove the wincnc pci card from the PC. (looks like a video card). See if the computer boots normally. Then reinstall with no cables attached. Then attach cables and start control.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2019, 01:23 PM
OlenP OlenP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Mooresville ,North Carolina
Posts: 6
Default Removed the card

Morning Gary
We removed the card checked the ribbon cable and it is solid. We reseated the card and connected everything except the machine. Everything worked fine except when we opened WINCNC it grayed out again and would not work. We had to go to task manager to close WINCNC.

Thank you for your help.
__________________
Olen Persons
Stinger SR 24 ,stinger stand ,Storm Vacuum ,1KW Spindle ,Performance Plus , FTC ,Laser Crosshairs ,Counter balance , Laser engraver ,Wireless internet connection ,metal duct to Delta dust collector (grounded & bonded).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2019, 02:03 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Consultants and Trainers
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,966
Default

Did the computer boot normally with the card removed?
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2019, 08:51 PM
OlenP OlenP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Mooresville ,North Carolina
Posts: 6
Default

Hello ĎGary
The computer did boot up correctly and operate as it should without the card installed. Michael at support went online and looked at the card He determined it was dead and would have to be sent back to the factory. I sent it off this afternoon overnight. I will let you know how it works when Iíll get it back.

He also enabled my FTC which will be good to use.
Thanks again for your help
__________________
Olen Persons
Stinger SR 24 ,stinger stand ,Storm Vacuum ,1KW Spindle ,Performance Plus , FTC ,Laser Crosshairs ,Counter balance , Laser engraver ,Wireless internet connection ,metal duct to Delta dust collector (grounded & bonded).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.