CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The Water Cooler > New Forum Members

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2016, 04:55 PM
KnRW00D KnRW00D is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 3
Default New to CNC and not happy

I was part way through writing this and must have hit the wrong button, so will try again.

Recently received a new Stinger 1. Had to wait for the electrician to run the required power in the shop. So today was first day to try it out. Went step by step in the users guide. All went well (I thought). Powered everything up and seemed fine. Wanted to remove the packing material below the spindle as it was shipped. So in WinCNC hit the Z up and immediately received error message which said "RESET E-STOP C1" I checked the emergency stop button, so turned it and cleared it. Tried it again and received the same message. I did this a number of times, and still get same message.
Am I missing something. I have a brand new machine anxious to try but can't get past the starting gate!!!!!!!
__________________
Kevin & Robin Hempel

Stinger 1
Win CNC
VCarve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2016, 05:20 PM
TommyT TommyT is offline
CAMaster owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 66
Default Box color

What color are th boxes next to your x,y,z

Have you initialized the machine

Start up your CNC and click initialize.

Type G92 the press enter ..... this will turn of the ALL green boxes.

Type G49 then press enter ..... this will turn off the blue box next to Z.

Click initialize ....... ALL axis should read zero
__________________
Stinger II 4x4
2.25 Router
WinCNC
Black Box Hurricane
V-Carve Pro 8
FTC
Laser
Remote Keypad

Last edited by TommyT; 08-07-2016 at 05:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2016, 05:37 PM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,563
Default

I would suggest that as a matter of install that you check all wire connections. One loose terminal on the switch could be your problem. Things wiggle a lot during shipment.
Hang in there.
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2016, 05:47 PM
Xray Xray is offline
CAMaster Stinger Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,692
Default

Yes, do pull out and reseat all connections making sure they are firmly connected - Estop error [when estop is not engaged] is a sign the lines of communication are down in some fashion.
__________________
Doug

Stinger 1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2016, 06:09 PM
KnRW00D KnRW00D is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 3
Default

I tried the initialization as TommyT suggested. After initialization ig got a "G28Z aborted Reset E-Stop C1" with a red colored "Line 7" after it. All boxes are yellow, typing the G94 and G49 did not seem to change anything. Will try and take the box apart and check wires now.
__________________
Kevin & Robin Hempel

Stinger 1
Win CNC
VCarve
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2016, 06:33 PM
KnRW00D KnRW00D is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 3
Default

I opened the controller box. As far as I can tell all wires are firmly attached. For a little more information. After I did the initialization again i received the following


G 28Z
Aborted - Reset E-Stop C1 (in red color)
Line 7 (in red color)
M98 Macros/Macro_Abort.Mac (in black color)
Running Macros/Macro_Abort.Mac (in blue color)
__________________
Kevin & Robin Hempel

Stinger 1
Win CNC
VCarve
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-07-2016, 09:03 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Consultants and Trainers
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,996
Default

Press the Estop button in That's stopped
Twist to release That's run.

Repeat a couple times in case the switch contacts are stuck
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-22-2018, 10:34 AM
Doug S Doug S is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Bastrop, Texas
Posts: 269
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Campbell View Post
Press the Estop button in That's stopped
Twist to release That's run.

Repeat a couple times in case the switch contacts are stuck
Guys,
I want to thanks this board and Gary again for making the obvious, obvious.

Last night, everything was going great. Completed two CNC projects and needed to cut one more item for a cabinet job.
Somewhere during this time, someone bumped into the EMO switch. When I went to run the one item-no joy.
Kept getting servos not enabled.
Reset everything-nothing
Reset all cables- nothing
Re-booted table and pc-nothing
G28z error.

Decided to sleep on it.
Got in shop this morning and jumped on our faithful Camheads site to see what the braintrust had to say.

I found this old post about an estop and Gary mentioned to cycle it a few times as the contact may have gotten stuck.
I opened the control panel and watched my lights.
Press emo-red light comes on, green light goes out.
Reset, red light stays on, green light comes on.
Press emo-red light comes on, green light goes out.
Reset, red light stays on, green light comes on.
Press emo-red light comes on, green light goes out.
Reset, red light goes off, green light comes on.

FIXED.

Sticky switch but no EMO error.
Everything is back on line and cutting away happily.

Thank you all for sharing your knowledge again. I only hope one day I can be of some help to someone here.

Doug S

Happily cutting 200 sheets over the holidays
__________________
Existing:-2014 Cobra 5x10 ATC w/ 10 hp spindle, Mozaik, 25 hp Becker High Vacuum Pump, 5 HP Oneida DC-Central Texas
New:-2014 Cobra 5x12 ATC w/ 10 hp spindle, pop up pins, phenolic top, lathe, vacuum relief valve, mister system, 25 HP Blower.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-22-2018, 01:10 PM
tonywish tonywish is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Coaldale, CO 81222
Posts: 795
Default

Kevin,
Thank goodness you are having some problems! You now have a golden opportunity to really explore your machine, see where the Servo drivers are, look at the lights on the printed circuit card and know what they mean, and get a pretty decent understanding of the general electro/mechanical functions of the machine.
Second you now know the Camhead community and it's quick responses to your dilemma. It's why most of us bought a Camaster in the first place. Consider this your first training session by correspondence.
Don' ask me how I know all this.
__________________
Tony Wish
Cobra 4x8
Plasma
Popiel Folding Fishing Rod
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-22-2018, 01:17 PM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
Administrator, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 7,131
Default

As sad and crazy as that sounds Tony is right, I have always been grateful i had to actually learn my machine,

That experience has paid off a thousand times over !
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC

www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Mcgrew-W...=page_internal

Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
https://video.nest.com/live/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.