CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Stinger Series CNC Routers > Stinger III

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2020, 10:01 PM
streamlinePA streamlinePA is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 15
Default Power cord for Stinger 3

I have a Stinger 3 (x3) on order.
Requires 30 amp 4 wire.
My electrician is going to install a wall outlet.
I would like to attach a power cord to the machine.
I was going to use a Legrand Pass and Seymour Turnlok 30 Amp 125/250-Volt Locking Plug.
My cord will be under 25'
1. do I use 6/4 or 8/4?
(Southwire 100 ft. 8/4 600-Volt CU Black Flexible Portable Power SOOW Cord)

2. do I just run the cord across the floor and try not to step on it? Or is there something I put over it to protect it?

3. When the wire enters the jbox on the machine, do I use a romex clamp of some kind? is it a 3/4" or 1" knock out hole on it?

Thanks for any information or suggestions!
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2020, 10:33 PM
TJCornish TJCornish is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 68
Default

Is this a home shop or a commercial shop? 30A is normally no 10 wire, but if you are in a commercial building with 3-phase power, sometimes the neutral wire counts as a current-carrying conductor which might bump you up to no. 8 wire. You donít need no. 6 wire.

If youíre in a commercial shop, you will need to have a cable management plan to ensure the cord canít be damaged. There are speed bump-style raceways that can work for this, or sometimes the cord is run up to the ceiling and then over. If it is in your home shop, itís up to you, but I would take the trade off of a longer run if that meant getting the wire out of the way.

For clamps on SOOW cord, they make appropriate connectors that put even tension all the way around the cord. Google ďcord gripsĒ. You will need to know the outside diameter of the cord to get the right size grip. I donít think youíll need one with strain relief, but thatís up to your AHJ. Hereís the result of a quick Google search. Donít take this as a particular recommendation, but rather an example of the right type of connector.

https://www.platt.com/platt-electric...&SubCatID=8390
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2020, 10:36 PM
asaucier12 asaucier12 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 52
Default

All your questions should be directed to your sales person.

I am quoting. “ Search function is your friend”.
__________________
Stinger III SR-48
3 KW Spindle
FTC
Laser Cross hair
Maglube Misting System
VCarve Pro V9.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2020, 12:08 AM
Logan Y Logan Y is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Kansas
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by streamlinePA View Post
I have a Stinger 3 (x3) on order.
Requires 30 amp 4 wire.
My electrician is going to install a wall outlet.
I would like to attach a power cord to the machine.
I was going to use a Legrand Pass and Seymour Turnlok 30 Amp 125/250-Volt Locking Plug.
My cord will be under 25'
1. do I use 6/4 or 8/4?
(Southwire 100 ft. 8/4 600-Volt CU Black Flexible Portable Power SOOW Cord)

2. do I just run the cord across the floor and try not to step on it? Or is there something I put over it to protect it?

3. When the wire enters the jbox on the machine, do I use a romex clamp of some kind? is it a 3/4" or 1" knock out hole on it?

Thanks for any information or suggestions!
Jim
1. 10/4 copper or 8/4 aluminum assuming your run is sub 100 ft. Over go up a size.

2. If it is a high traffic area I'd pit some kind of protection over it. If it's up towards the wall I'd probably be leave it as is.

3. It'll probably be a 3/4" knockout, but check with sales for sure.

That plug will work. It looks like it is a 4 wire generator style plug so it'll be fine
__________________
4'x8' Stinger IV w/ 4.2 hp spindle and 4 tool ATC
Mister system
Phenolic Vac table
Hurricane Vac
Vcarve Pro 10



Catholic school IT director, wannabe woodworker, Krav Maga instructor, and CNC enthusiast
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2020, 11:36 AM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,693
Default

For my Stinger II SR-44 which had the same electrical requirement, I used 10 gage rubber coated cord material for a pigtail, a generator cord for length flexibility in case I move the machine out for tiling and twist locks (LR14) at the wall so I have a positive disconnect. I do not leave my machine plugged in while not in the shop and preferred a plug over a disconnect switch.





This setup has performed well for me and meets my intended expectations.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2020, 01:44 PM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 514
Default

I used a 4 wire dryer plug for mine. I unplug it (and the computer plug also) when the machine is not in use.
__________________
Wes
Elite CNC Routing & Woodworks on Facebook
Steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
WinCNC
VcarvePro 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum, phenolic plenum
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.