CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2018, 08:33 PM
kyeakel kyeakel is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Curwensville, PA
Posts: 77
Default J Tech Laser

I sent an email to J Tech asking if they had install instructions for Camaster with wincnc controllers for their add on solid state lasers. They replied that they are working with someone at Camaster to get this setup. I'd like to add one ASAP, could whomever is working on this post a progress report? Give an estimate when this might be possible?

Thanks,
Kipp
__________________
Stinger I
1.7kw spindle
Performance kit
Recoil
Aspire 9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2018, 09:47 AM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,334
Default

I believe you're going to have to contract Camaster directly. While a person or two from Camaster "occasionally" stops by here, this is primarily an owner/user forum site.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2018, 09:47 AM
drummerjg drummerjg is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Addison, PA
Posts: 950
Default

Now that would be a really cool add onto the Stinger! I cant wait to hear some more details. Thanks for the info.
__________________
Joe Garber
Retired Hobbyist
Stinger 1 SR24
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
Indexing Lathe
WinCNC, Aspire 9.5, PhotoCarve
Storm Vacuum
drummerjg@icloud.com


How to count to 10 in Windows:
1,2,3,95,NT,2000,XP,Vista,7,8,10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2018, 05:11 PM
keithrhyde keithrhyde is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Winchester, Virginia
Posts: 317
Default

I am interested as well so I sent Thomas a note and asked him to please post the latest news on the laser. I received a response back already from Thomas and he stated that the laser is still in the R&D stage but they were excited about it and would post news as soon as it is available. He gave no timeline. At least we know definitely that a laser capability is coming.
__________________
Keith Hyde, Winchester, VA
2016 Stinger 1, 1.7KW HF Spindle HSD
Performance Package Pro, Vac, lathe, Aspire 9
Former Marine and retired Seabee Master Chief.
Furniture is my hobby not my vocation.
hyde.consulting@comcast.net

Last edited by keithrhyde; 11-06-2018 at 05:56 PM. Reason: Added response
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2018, 05:50 PM
BradyWatson BradyWatson is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: 1 hour South of Philly
Posts: 347
Default

FYI - You just need one available output on your board to turn the laser on & off. You need to set up the port in WinCNC as an output and remember the number.

Then you need to modify the post processor for your CAM (Vectric is easy) and tell it to turn it on & off, when appropriate for what you are doing.

I am pretty sure they have a GCode post on JT's website that should work or be really close to what you need...you'll have to change what output is triggered to match the output number where the laser is physically connected.

It isn't that hard to do....but if you've never modified anything in WinCNC or a post processor, you might want to wait until it is officially supported, esp. if you are still under warranty.
__________________
IBILD Solutions - High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2019, 09:49 PM
Dan Schmidt Dan Schmidt is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 15
Default

Any update on this? Topic dead?
__________________
Dan Schmidt
  • PT404 Panther w/ 3kW spindle
  • Cyclone Vacuum System
  • Indexing Lathe
  • FTC/Laser/Assist/Remote
  • Fusion 360 / Vectric V-Carve Pro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-03-2019, 10:49 AM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,334
Default

Camaster offers the laser as an option, but it's only available on new machines. There's no retrofit.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-2019, 01:19 PM
TimPa TimPa is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: nw pa
Posts: 224
Default

expanding on Brady's comments...

while in the post processor, i would disable the output to the router/spindle - just to ensure that it never turns on while in the laser mode (for collet mounted lasers). which brings comment #2, i would seriously consider mounting the laser to the side of the router/spindle (rather than collet mounted), akin to the laser pointer mounting, just add an x/y offset. then it's always installed, set up and available. you may have to remove the tool in the router to run the laser, as the laser has a focal point that may require rather close proximity to the wood surface.

i didn't realize they came down so much in price, $455 for that 8w isn't bad...
__________________
Panther PT-404 (aluminum)
6 position ATC w/5hpHSD, Aspire 9.5/WinCNC, Recoil, Laser, Hurricane
near bottom of the learning curve!!

Last edited by TimPa; 12-05-2019 at 09:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-2019, 03:30 PM
BradyWatson BradyWatson is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: 1 hour South of Philly
Posts: 347
Default

You can get a 40w complete machine for $400 delivered...Both eBay and Amazon have them. Do your research and don't expect it to be on par with a $35k unit. Since you already have a CNC the learning curve is a lot lower.

It doesn't take long for the novelty to wear off with sub-20 watt units. Laser machines work best on light, quick machines. I wouldn't want to put extra mileage on my Camaster for engraving.

Implementing the JTech is pretty easy...all the documentation is available to do it. Unlike variable wattage units, all you need to do is turn it on and off. This is accomplished via the post processor.
__________________
IBILD Solutions - High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-05-2019, 05:42 PM
Luke Bennett's Avatar
Luke Bennett Luke Bennett is offline
CAMaster Tech
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 261
Default

Hey Guys,

At this time a laser engraver is not a retrofit option.
__________________
Luke Bennett
CAMaster CNC Tech
www.camaster.com

Frankenstinger 25x48 custom machine
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.