CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2019, 10:52 AM
Myshadowboxes Myshadowboxes is offline
CAMaster Stinger Owner (The OG)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Holt, Florida
Posts: 184
Default Touch Top Z height help

So I have a board that I want to plane. I have my z height set to the top of the board. I set my toolpath up and told it to go .015 deep. I save the toolpath. I go to wincnc and initialized it set my X and Y zero. Measured the tool. Did a touch top on the wood.

I load the file and run it and it doesn't touch the wood at all. So I add .005 each time and save the tool path. Load and still nothing. I have it set right now to .04 and still not touching the wood. I have it measure at the same place the bit is going to start and still nothing.

Am I doing something wrong?

Anthony
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2019, 10:59 AM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is online now
CNC Consultants and Trainers
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,935
Default

Where is the Z reference (Datum, Zero) set in the design file. My guess is "material bottom". If so, set it to the material surface, the same place you did your touch top to
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2019, 11:07 AM
Myshadowboxes Myshadowboxes is offline
CAMaster Stinger Owner (The OG)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Holt, Florida
Posts: 184
Default

Material Top... That is why it doesn't make sense. If I set it to top, do a touch top and run... it should go down the depth of the wood.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2019, 11:15 AM
Myshadowboxes Myshadowboxes is offline
CAMaster Stinger Owner (The OG)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Holt, Florida
Posts: 184
Default

Holy crap.... I went to use my caliper on the touch pad to see how thick it is, and bam..... On the bottom of my touch pad is a dime size of dried hot glue... Go figure...

Thanks for the reply Gary...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.