CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The Water Cooler > The Water Cooler

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2019, 10:35 PM
pkcamaster2 pkcamaster2 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Spearfish, SD
Posts: 76
Default Aggregate heads

Is anyone using one of these? Any suggestions for brands to pursue/avoid?

I saw a few options from Techniks @ the IWFS (while wandering around with fellow Camheader Jim Biddle) but I've also read about a few other brands.

Anyone experienced with an aggregate on a Camaster?

I'm not even sure which ones are compatible w/ my HSK HSD-F63 spindle. The Techniks fellow said your spindle has to have a "pin hole" to allow the aggregate to remain stationary / stable but I don't see anything like this on my spindle head.
__________________
Cobra Elite 5x10
13hp Spindle
KRS TDS-A-30
ATC-10

Stinger I
HSD 1.7kw
KRS 20
Laser
FTC
Aspire9.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2019, 09:30 AM
BradyWatson BradyWatson is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: 1 hour South of Philly
Posts: 339
Default

I'm not using one but PDS Colombo sells them. I don't think HSD makes one and if they do they aren't very common.
__________________
IBILD Solutions - High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2019, 07:36 PM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,318
Default

I think you can bolt on a collar with a pin hole. Or better yet, build a C axis so you can better control the aggregate head. The C-axis would need a pin hole to index the aggregate head.
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2019, 08:01 AM
Ger21 Ger21 is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradyWatson View Post
I don't think HSD makes one and if they do they aren't very common.



https://www.hsdusa.com/viewdoc.asp?co_id=41
__________________
Gerry

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2019, 10:07 AM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 326
Default

Looks like they have one for my machine also. Great to know for the future.
__________________
New all-steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
Pop up pins
WinCNC
VcarvePro 8 & 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2019, 12:39 PM
pkcamaster2 pkcamaster2 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Spearfish, SD
Posts: 76
Default

Build a C-axis? I think this is waaaaaay above my pay grade.

Any threads / tutorials available explaining the process? I believe my Stinger used the 'lathe' space as an "A-axis", correct?

Can someone explain the use / setup of a C-axis?
__________________
Cobra Elite 5x10
13hp Spindle
KRS TDS-A-30
ATC-10

Stinger I
HSD 1.7kw
KRS 20
Laser
FTC
Aspire9.5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2019, 12:58 PM
BradyWatson BradyWatson is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: 1 hour South of Philly
Posts: 339
Default

Or...buy any number of cheap spindles and mount them on their side...

A rigid "aggregate" head is just like your regular z but kicked on a 90. Think in terms of a cube and what XY face you want to machine.
__________________
IBILD Solutions - High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.